Could You, Would You, On a Train?

Page 33, Green Eggs and Ham

I would not, could not, in the rain.
Not in the dark. Not on a train.
Not in a car. Not in a tree.
I do not like them, Sam, you see.
Not in a house. Not in a box.
Not with a mouse. Not with a fox.
I will not eat them here or there.
I do not like them anywhere!

This morning, as he woke up, Tau asked for Green Eggs and Ham. The book I mean; not eggs and ham for breakfast. As soon as I gave him the book, his face lit up like the sun.

“You want to read Green Eggs and Ham?”

Emphatic nod. “Read ‘am?”

“Come up. Out. Let’s go lie on Mom and Dad’s bed to read Ham.”

We have a pile of older-kid books like this that Tau seems fascinated by. What he loves about Ham is the rhythm of the prose, the repetition and the rhyme. Not in a house. Not in a box. Not with a mouse. Not with a fox.

That and he loves the fact that there are so many objects that he recognizes and can name out loud. Man. Tree. Car. Eggs. Fork. Wheels. Train. Fast!

I love that he loves books and I love that he likes Dr. Suess. I love starting the day on my back, head to head with my boy, reading in a grouchy Sam-I-am voice.

2 responses to “Could You, Would You, On a Train?

  1. Declan LOVES LOVES LOVES this book too.

  2. Lovely!
    ;-)

Leave a comment