Finally Making the Family Passport Wallet

closedwallet.jpg

Two Christmases ago I gave Dave a paper gift bag. Inside it was a handful of fat quarters, half a yard of interfacing and a velcro strip. Also, the pattern for the Family Passport  Wallet.

For the past 23 years, we’ve been traveling with our passports and boarding passes in this:

oldwallet

Awful, right? I’d intended to make the new travel wallet and give it to Dave that Christmas, but that didn’t happen what with December being December … and also Christmas. So he got all the materials in a baggie, along with the promise that I would sew it as soon as I could.

Fast forward a year and a half and I’m visiting Kelli for the weekend. I know I can take one small sewing project with me, and the travel wallet it was!

walletinprogress.jpg

With its clean lines and many pockets, this project is all about neat pinning, carefully ironing and precise stitching. It sewed up in an afternoon over a glass of wine and a bowl of guacamole and tortilla chips.

openwallet.jpg

I am very happy with the result!

3 responses to “Finally Making the Family Passport Wallet

  1. That looks really great! I haven’t traveled internationally since having kids so I never even thought about having to keep track of their passports!

  2. Cute! I love all the pockets and various patterns.

Leave a comment