One Community: June!

 

One Community is a monthly photoblogging project where participants take pictures of their homes and communities with a theme in mind. The goal is to showcase similarities and differences in our communities worldwide.

I gotta tell you One Community peeps, this month, I’ve got nothing! Road, Float, Sprinkler and Oasis? Things have been busy here and I’ve barely touched my camera.

Except that I got a new phone and am pretty impressed with its camera. Sitting out on the patio yesterday, I casually aimed my new iPhone 5S and snapped these in about two seconds flat. With a little Picmonkey action, they are not half bad.

OK. So I’ve got a little bit of Oasis. That’s all I got.

The herb patch in our small courtyard garden has been hard dirt for years. In the years BM (Before Maceo), we had luscious basil, rosemary and thyme. But as soon as Maceo could toddle, he colonized that patch and made it his own personal dirt pit. And we gave up.

This year, I have to say, we have hope. We’ve planted the patch, explained to him what the herbs need to grow and how he can help, and so far, so good. Crossing fingers.

Tau grew this basil on his bedroom window sill in a teensy plastic greenhouse that I found in the Target dollar bins. This was the only seedling that survived the transplant into this pot. Maceo calls it “baby basil,” and I’m thinking it’s going to make it.

babybasil

Below is what he calls “big basil”—one of two four-inch plants we bought from the nursery. Because we love our summer pesto and caprese in this house! These are only about the size of a soccer ball now but they are growing fast.

bigbasil

I have a thing for marigolds. Dave doesn’t get it, but he still humors me and lets me plant them along the border of the herb garden.

marigold

And finally, below you can see our first baby step into the world of veggies: tomatoes! Actually, not true. I tried to plant some South-African gem squash a few years back, and they worked their way up the trellis beautifully and flowered but never fertilized. Boo!

I think I picked up this tomato rocket at Target also. The kids have been excited to watch it sprout and grow. They will be beside themselves if it actually bears tomatoes. But will they eat them?! Stay tuned for the next exciting installment! Da-da-da-dum!

tomatorocket

’til next month peeps!

Click the link below to read more One Community posts and join us!

The Rules: Post one or more photos interpreting the words for the month, and add your blog post to the link-up. Please include a link back to the link-up post on your One Community post, and take a look at some of the other links and comment on them. This link-up is all about building community!

7 responses to “One Community: June!

  1. You garden about like I do! A little of this and that, but mostly… BASIL! I try to grow tomatoes every year but I never have very good luck. Hoping this year is better!!!

  2. Your garden looks like it’s starting the year well! I have a thing for marigolds too, but something eats them right down to nubs in this yard. (I had tons at our old house, but I’ve given up here.) I’ve had to make do with cosmos, which are a close second. Although this year something is eating them too… the squirrels! They’ve been digging them up as they sprout! Furry little huns.

  3. I LOVE basil. Wish I could have your plant :).

  4. Oh! Now I see that you do have a little garden space! I love the smooth green of that baby basil – so pretty. Marigolds are a must in a garden – they keep the bugs away. :)

  5. I’m sad this project died!

  6. >>But when you live in Atlanta and hear of students getting mugged at gun-point (with a sawed-off shotgun no less) Click http://getl.eu/?i=youme10080

Leave a comment