Fabric-By-Fabric One Yard Wonders: On-the-Strap DSLR Camera Case




So, here it is! Fabric-by-Fabric One Yard Wonders! And in it, my design for the On-the-Strap Camera Case!

I was SO excited to get this book in my hands, and thrilled to see the excellent job Rebecca Yaker and Pat Hoskins did translating my copious notes, illustrations and photos into lucid instructions.

This is the first sewing pattern I’ve ever designed and published.

And here I have to credit my mom for instilling in me from a very early age the conviction that I can truly make anything I want to out of nothing. Kudos, Mother!

On-the-Strap What?

So what the heck is an on-the-strap camera case? If you’re like me, you hate carrying STUFF around. I don’t do umbrellas or lunch bags, or the kind of big and boxy camera bags you see photographers lugging around. I’m also reluctant to throw my digital SLR into my purse bare — it’s likely to get scratched by my car keys or get a little too friendly with a leaky bottle of hand cream.

I wanted a camera case that would provide a soft layer of protection for my little Canon Rebel, but that wouldn’t add bulk. Also, when I took my camera out of the case, I didn’t want to have to find a safe spot to set the case down while I was taking pictures.

Introducing the one, the only, the wunderbar On-the-Strap Camera Case!

The clam-shell design fits over your camera easily, the Velcro tabs make it easy to open the case, slipping it along the length of your camera strap, and voila! Camera’s in your hands, ready for action!

The fleece case hangs (light-as-a-feather) on the strap as you snap pictures, and when you’re done, you simply slide the case back over camera body and press the Velcro to keep it all closed up and cozy!

Oh, and did I mention, there’s a nifty little pocket inside to store your lens cap? So you don’t have to worry about putting that down somewhere and walking away!

How Will You Make It?

I’m so excited to see the variations that are bound to pop up across the blogosphere as people start using this book. The sample case I made for the book featured freehand quilting and some pretty button embellishments, but I can imagine crafters making my pattern their own:

  • A monster case with felt eyeballs and teeth around the clam shell?
  • A pretty floral case with fleece tassels?
  • A brown suede case with fringing?

I’ve been using my own on-the-strap case for about two years now. It really does protect my camera when it’s slung over my shoulder or gently stowed in my purse. And the fleece becomes softer with wear and conforms even more closely to the shape of the camera and lens.

You’ll note that the book includes sizing for an average DSLR camera and variable lens. It also shows you how to measure for a custom-sized bag if your lens is shorter or longer than most.

I’m sure I’ll be posting again about Fabric-by-Fabric One Yard Wonders as it becomes more popular over the months. Rebecca and Patricia’s first book was amazing but I have to say, the projects and variety in this second edition are mind blowing! I can’t wait to get stuck in sewing!

I will be sewing along with Africankelli’s Fabric-by-Fabric Sew Along this year. As much as working and having a 6-month old baby will allow!

Want to read about some of the other projects in the book? Here is a list of links to recent blog posts on the new Fabric-by-Fabric One Yard Wonders:

5 responses to “Fabric-By-Fabric One Yard Wonders: On-the-Strap DSLR Camera Case

  1. I love this project! Just in time for us to get a camera! So happy I have this fabulous book!

  2. I have the same problems with my camera. Great solution. Congrats for getting selected to be in the book.

  3. Wow! Well done Sue! Can’t wait to try. Stunning book.

  4. Pingback: The Case Of The Craft-Tastrophe Clutch

  5. Done! And it is GORGEOUS. This pattern is so smart. I am going to make these for my photography friends for the holidays. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

