August

I just had my pronunciation corrected by a two-year-old.

Muttering to himself, I hear him talking about days of the week and August. They discuss the day, date and month every day at MY NEW SCHOOL.

“Did you say August, Tau?”

“Is not August … is August.”

I’m a bit slow on the uptake. “Did you say it’s August?” I’m all impressed that he’s remembered the name of the month after only hearing it once on Friday the first.

With a touch of annoyance in his voice … “You don’t say Orgust … is Aahgust.”

“Oh!… Aahgust!?”

“Yes — is August.”

I stand corrected.

4 responses to “August

  1. LOL my kids do that too! But well done on him remembering!!

  2. hee hee, very cute!! I suppose it’s also the difference between your old SA pronunciation and his truely american accent too :)

  3. Yup….a clash of accents..must be very confusing for a little chap.

  4. Well, of course, he is right! :)

Leave a Reply

