On the Fifth of July

Dear Aimee,

Thank you. You said what I wanted to say but didn’t feel up to saying.

Just that morning I’d been listening to NPR in the car and caught the tail end of a discussion on the reluctance many Americans feel to speak out for fear of seeming unpatriotic. Fear of pointing out that the emperor is butt nekkid when everyone else is wrapping him in the flag.

As someone still standing in line for permanent residency, I feel it even more keenly — the reluctance to say too much, for fear of seeming ungrateful or rude.

My fourth of July post? I made two of those cartoons. One with a regular flag and one with a flag that had a peace sign where the stars should be. But then the whole Scooter Libby thing just wiped me out — I felt frozen by the audacity of it and exhausted by the sheer arrogance. When stuff like this happens, I often say to Dave, “Why aren’t people rioting in the freaking streets!?”

And so I posted the safe one and hoped you’d all notice the weary look in my cartoon eye.

So thanks Aimee for saying it out loud.

Your friend in the computer,

Sue … uh … Simpson
Springfield, USA

3 responses to “On the Fifth of July

  1. I like this post a lot.

    It’s funny, I am taking the California Bar Exam in 19 days and I have been reviewing, among other things, Constitutional law for weeks and weeks now. Executive privilege is a funny, hazy little area that no one really knows what to do with, especially now since the President does whatever he wants. So they just say “it’s broad” and move on.

    But what’s really interesting is that our Supreme Court, thanks to you-know-who, has drastically changed so much precedent that our bar review books, which were only written a few months ago, are wrong now. A total ban on partial birth abortion presents an undue burden to a woman’s right to choose? Think again. (I am not generally in favor of abortion, but it’s the principle of the thing.) You’re a taxpayer, and you think a government program created by the President violates the Establishment Clause by unlawfully promoting religion? No standing to sue in federal court for you.

    I could go on, but you get the point. It’s all going to hell in a handbasket.

  2. Thanks for that Sue… as a Native-born American, for a long time I was caught up in the rhetoric that if I said anything critical about the government of this country than I must hate it and was being unpatriotic… that all-to-familiar Love It or Leace It argument. It took me years to get over that and realize that I do love this country and that speaking out about the injustices that I see IS being patriotic by making sure that the nation does not turn into a palce that I would be embarrassed of. This is one of the few nations in the world where people are allowed to disagree with the government and it’s a shame that too many Americans feel that blind obedience of a supreme leader is the only way to be patriotic because they have been confused by the message sent to them by the U.S. media and politicians.

Leave a Reply

