Took the Night Off to Set My Hair in Rollers

So the one night I don’t go whooping it up at the House of Blues, Britney Spears shows up. Sheesh!

“It lasted only 14 minutes but Tuesday night saw Britney Spears’ first live performance in nearly three years.

The 25-year-old mother of two, whose life has been dominated by wild partying and a stint in rehab since divorcing husband Kevin Federline last year, returned to her day job as she took to the stage at the House of Blues in San Diego.

Decked out in a dark brown wig, a short white pleated miniskirt, knee-high boots and a sparkling pink bra top, the singer began her set at 10.15pm.

She reportedly lip-synched her way through five songs like ‘Toxic’ and ‘… Baby One More Time’ during the short show that featured smoke and light effects, four back-up dancers and various costume changes.

Spears ended the show with a quiet goodbye.”

Entertainment section, iafrica.com*

Close call. Just a week ago, Aimee at Greeblemonkey asked readers to ‘fess up on their “Not if You Paid Me” lists — artists and bands you’d avoid seeing at all costs.

Mine included: Enya, Eric Clapton, Madonna, Michael Jackson and Celine Dion. But then I swapped out Madonna for Britney. You’d have to pay me a whole lotta moola to go see Britney. That and find us a babysitter.

At 10:15 last night, I’d just replaced the drinking water in Tau’s room and was setting my alarm clock for 5:30 a.m, which is what time I roll out of bed in the morning to get a shower and occasionally wash my hair, and which is unusual for me because you all know how much I love to party the night away perched atop a nightclub speaker wearing nothing but one of my many, many spandex minis and a glittericiously sparkly bra.

That said, if you can’t say something nice, don’t say anything at all. So. Britney hasn’t given the press much reason to kiss-kiss lately but I must say I do feel for her. Overwhelmed, unbalanced young mother of not one but two toddlers, moving through a nasty divorce and probably all kinds of other issues too. And while I’m mildly green that I don’t have a personal nanny or shrink or even a trainer to help me get my belly this flat, I remind myself that like all new moms, Britney’s world is probably rocking in a very different “Baby One More Time” way right now.

And as new mothers we all get wiggy from time to time. There are certainly days I look in the mirror and wish I could shave all my hair off and wear a baseball cap to work!

* Found it interesting that the highest Google hit when I searched on this was at iafrica.

One response to “Took the Night Off to Set My Hair in Rollers

  1. Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. :) Cheers! Sandra. R.

Leave a Reply

