Just Ducky, Thank You!

ducky.jpg

We are cautiously optimistic that El(Rota)vi(ru)s has left the building. Things seem a lot more solid, shall we say, in the diaper department and our Curious Tau is back again. 

Two new games this weekend:

1) Hiding Go Duck: Beg your parents to wind up bath Duck-Duck, then hide him in the big African straw basket and jam the lid on. Your parents will be amazed and confused. They can hear the duck feet going like mad, but where the heck is that duck? Silly parents — you have to show them where you hid him.

2) Where It Is: Mom likes to do my Pets Sound Puzzle with me. Sometimes I hide a piece or two behind the sofa where she can’t see them. When she asks me where the pieces are, I go and find them and bring them to her. I’m helpful that way. Oh, and by the way, I can do this puzzle all on my own!

Also, we had a bunch of overripe bananas on the kitchen counter — Tau had not been eating his usual share. Thought I’d make banana bread but we were out of flour. So this morning, I found a recipe on the Internet for flourless Oatmeal Banana Muffins:

2 1/2 cups of quick oats
1/4 cup of raisins
2 bananas, chopped fine
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup milk
2/3 cup honey
2 eggs, beaten lightly
2 tablespoons vegetable oil

Pre-heat oven to 450 F. Line muffin tin with cupcake papers. In a big bowl, mix oats, raisins, baking powder, salt and bananas. Add the rest of the ingredients, stirring ’til you have an even mix. Fill each muffin well 3/4 full with the mixture and bake 15 minutes or until golden.

It was heartening to see Tau plough through one of these after feeding him baby food the last couple weeks. They have a yummy, hearty-but-moist oat-banana flavor.

I took him for a walk to the park just before lunchtime, and he ate muffins and drank juice all the way there and back. 

One response to “Just Ducky, Thank You!

  1. I came across your site through parenthacks. It is very cute. So is your son. I hope he is all done being sick.

Leave a Reply

